Fine Arts Quartet 2

8.00pm Thursday, 7 August 2014

Ambleside Parish Church (St Mary's)

A £24 B £15 RV Allocated Seating

Book Tickets Online


R Strauss Capriccio: Introduction for string sextet, Op.85* 11'

Beethoven String Quartet in G major, Op.18 No.2 24'

Shostakovich Two pieces for string octet, Op.11* 10'

Mendelssohn String Octet in E flat major, Op.20* 32'

From autumnal brilliance to youthful energy, in the first of three 'Quartets Plus' concerts – see also here and here. Capriccio's curtain-raiser, Strauss's final chamber piece after a break of over 50 years, takes us to one of Beethoven's first quartets (see also here and here) and Shostakovich's cheeky and edgy 1925 octet (written at the same time as his 1st Symphony). On the completion of his Octet, the 16-year-old Mendelssohn said "I had the most wonderful time in the writing of it"… audiences ever since have shared that wonder.