Behn Quartet

Kate Oswin violin

Alicia Berendse violin

Lydia Abell viola

Ghislaine McMullin cello

The Behn Quartet is formed of players from New Zealand, the Netherlands, England, and Wales. Winner of the Charles Hennen First Prize at the Orlando International Chamber Music Competition 2017, it currently holds the CAVATINA Chamber Music Fellowship at the Royal Academy of Music. It takes its name from Aphra Behn, the seventeenth-century playwright, political activist, and philanthropist of the arts.

Since its formation in 2015, the Behn Quartet has given recitals around Europe, including at the West Cork Chamber Music Festival, String Quartet Biennale Amsterdam, and at the Wigmore Hall. It gave the première of Maxwell Davies’ final work at his Memorial Concert and live on BBC Radio 3, and has recorded chamber works by Maxwell Davies, Stravinsky and Birtwistle for Linn. It currently studies with Christoph Richter and David Waterman on the Chamber Studio masterclass scheme at Kings Place, and has performed for the Takács Quartet in a masterclass at Wigmore Hall. Future engagements include its Concertgebouw début as part of the Orlando Competition Winner’s Tour, a tour as Encompass Artists with Chamber Music New Zealand, and a performance of Mendelssohn's Octet as part of its Residency at the Wiltshire Music Centre with the Doric Quartet.

Previous appearances
Behn Quartet

Lake District Summer Music is proud to be associated with

Arts Council England Lottery Funded
Cookie preferences